GUEST REVIEWS

I would like to book a room:

07 Dec 2019
08Dec 2019
Code
Daniel Sutliff (Visiting form US)
  Wednesday, 29 May 2019

5.0

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Marc Curthoys (great stay)
  Monday, 27 May 2019

5.0

 
Booked this for mine and my wifes anniversary, friendly staff really nice buffet breakfast and facilities good. Will be staying again.
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Alison  Farrell (Great hotel)
  Sunday, 26 May 2019

5.0

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Tamara Metze (Friendly and comfortable )
  Friday, 24 May 2019

4.6

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Lynne James (Good Value )
  Monday, 20 May 2019

4.8

 
Clean hotel room although dated bathroom Breakfast ok. Staff very nice
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Adrian Cook (Highfield House Hotel Southampton - Saturday night stay)
  Monday, 13 May 2019

4.4

 
Car parking full - maybe use a few more places given the capacity of the hotel. Extractor fan in bathroom did not work. Otherwise very good overall.
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Helen Pardoe (One night stay)
  Monday, 06 May 2019

4.2

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
denise hampson (great)
  Thursday, 02 May 2019

5.0

 
fantastic hotel except there was a rip in the ceiling in the bathroom
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Marie Bennett (Nice stay)
  Monday, 29 April 2019

4.2

 
Good room for a single traveller. Lovely to have a bath as well as a shower. Only issue was that it was cold. I had the radiator up to max, but it made no difference.
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Shaun Dawson (Recommended )
  Monday, 29 April 2019

4.2

 
My stay here was last minute, and the staff went over and above to provide a room and early check in for me. The cleaner (didn't catch her name) was very helpful in locating an iron and board for me. So thank you. I would stay again no worries. Shaun Dawson
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
ENVER SADIKOGLU (Very nice and pleasant stay)
  Sunday, 28 April 2019

4.6

 
Staff attitude was extraordinary. Breakfast was very good. Quality of service met all my expectations.
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Katie Crawshaw (Would recommend this hotel)
  Friday, 19 April 2019

4.4

 
Lovely hotel, friendly staff and great location for the university. Double bedroom was clean and comfortable but on the small side. Shower in bathroom did not have any pressure.
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Liz Lord (Fantastic location for Uni student parents)
  Sunday, 31 March 2019

4.8

 
Great location near to University of Soton. Lovely staff, clean rooms, parking and a super breakfast. Excellent value and easy online booking system.
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Ramesh Talreja (Convenient location for visiting University of Southampton.)
  Tuesday, 12 March 2019

4.2

 
The hotel is cheap but good value for money. The campus is within walking distance.
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Joanne Savage (Sales Representative)
  Friday, 08 March 2019

3.6

 
The location of this hotel for meetings at both the University and the Hospital was great. The bus to the airport was a 5min walk from the hotel. The opportunity to work at the hotel was limited as only a small table and sofa was available in the lobby.
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Comfort Akinmurele (Ms Akinmurele)
  Thursday, 28 February 2019

4.8

 
A very good hotel, great location, excellent facilities and overall value for money.
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Jonathan Pardoe (Single night stay )
  Thursday, 28 February 2019

4.6

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Ine Fabyan (Comfy for Business)
  Friday, 15 February 2019

4.2

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Amanjot Chhatwal (Excellent Hotel)
  Tuesday, 12 February 2019

5.0

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Peter Raffo (Everything you would expect plus a bit more)
  Friday, 08 February 2019

4.4

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Oyindamola Awosika (Good value for money, would go again)
  Friday, 08 February 2019

3.6

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Henna Rai (Hotel stay )
  Sunday, 03 February 2019

4.6

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Andrew Spurrell (Ideal)
  Sunday, 03 February 2019

4.8

 
Great location for The Brook to the left and restaurants to the right A reverb has taken place since we last stayed a year ago Good standard of room and staff were excellent Great value especially if you book direct and pay in advance
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
JANET OCHILTREE (Happy Client )
  Saturday, 02 February 2019

4.8

 
Pleasant, polite& helpful staff, warm , comfortable, convenient location for my purpose, good breakfast. Value for money.
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
lisa seeman (nice place, great staff)
  Friday, 01 February 2019

4.0

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Mary McLaren (very enjoyable.)
  Monday, 14 January 2019

5.0

 
I find the Highfield House Hotel convenient for Southampton and surrounding areas. Easy for me coming from Ipswich down the M3
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Matthew Winwood (Great value friendly stay)
  Saturday, 17 November 2018

4.6

 
Very good value, with friendly staff in a quiet area.
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Kimberley Pilkington (Great stay. Would recommend. )
  Saturday, 03 November 2018

4.4

 
Had a nice night stay at the Highfield House Hotel, with a lovely breakfast. Everything was well looked after and clean. Well located near shops and not far from city centre. The staff were extremely helpful with my booking issue (totally my fault), which was awesome. Thanks, would stay again.
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
John Fryer (Very satisfactory)
  Monday, 29 October 2018

4.6

 
Ideal location to visit University students
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Jill Abram (Overnight stay)
  Thursday, 25 October 2018

4.8

 
A friendly and helpful staff made our overnight stay very pleasant. Clean room and everything to a very good standard. Near the university which is what we needed. Would have liked a couple of extra tea bags in the room.
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
William Bolger (Alfonso)
  Wednesday, 24 October 2018

4.8

 
A really comfortable stay. Lovely place. Would gladly have stayed longer
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
ELizabeth Kershaw (Weekend stay)
  Tuesday, 16 October 2018

5.0

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Alana Lunn (Overnight stay )
  Monday, 08 October 2018

3.8

 
This was our first stay and I cannot fault it for location and ease of travel in and out of Southampton. Was so quiet and good enough for what we needed. It could do with a revamp in the decor and Carpets but overall absolutely nothing to complain about. We would stay here again. Polite and welcoming staff Thank you
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Shin Yaginuma (Most convenient place if you visit the University)
  Sunday, 07 October 2018

4.0

 
This hotel is located very close to the main campus of University of Southampton. It is convenient also for shopping. I am a Japanese man.
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Yuxia Hu (Autumn in Highfield)
  Sunday, 07 October 2018

5.0

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Nicholas Townsend (n/a)
  Wednesday, 03 October 2018

3.8

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Gail Parker (Comfortable stay)
  Wednesday, 19 September 2018

3.8

 
We stayed overnight in order to break a journey. The hotel is easy to find and has a good sized car park. The staff are friendly and helpful. Our room was adequately furnished and had all the basic necessities. It was big enough, fine for an overnight stay. Bed was a double rather than king or queen but comfortable. The window opened a little, so it wasn't too stuffy. Only complaint is the poor soundproofing between us and the next room, so we could hear the conversation there into the early hours!
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Heather Anderson (Ideal pre-cruise stopover)
  Monday, 17 September 2018

4.6

 
My friend and I used this hotel for the night before our cruise as it is only two miles or so from the cruise terminal. Whilst a bit dated in appearance, the ensuite room was very clean and well decorated and the beds were comfortable. We didn't partake of breakfast but enjoyed a couple of drinks on arrival in the associated bar/restaurant next door which was very upmarket and had friendly young staff. I would definitely use this hotel again as it was good value for money.
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Antony Hurden (Good room, slept well)
  Friday, 14 September 2018

3.6

 
What more do you need other than a clean dry room, space to hang things, reasonable free wifi, desk space to work on, and a solid breakfast to start the day? Well, Highfield House Hotel delivers all this, with helpful staff who organised taxis and so on. Good value and well positioned if going to the University.
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Emma kedgley (Enjoyable stay)
  Monday, 10 September 2018

4.4

 
Friendly staff and very helpful with clarification of booking details after an initial problem with booking made through a booking agency.
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Alison Watson (great for anyone visiting university )
  Sunday, 09 September 2018

4.6

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
STUART PASS (excellent position for southampton university)
  Friday, 07 September 2018

5.0

 
This is in an excellent position for southampton university. The carparking is free but needs you to register your car to stop you getting a fine. There is a £10 fee if you want to get in your room an hour early. the staff are friendly and helpful. The room was of a nice size and clean and so was the bathroom. There is a nice pub bar at the front of the hotel where you can get good food. The hotel is well worth the hotel rate.
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Keith Ravenhill (Second visit)
  Monday, 27 August 2018

4.0

 
Hotel OK, certainly better than B&B and a few grades higher than Travel Lodge.
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
DAVID TOONE (Triple H)
  Monday, 27 August 2018

4.0

 
Great hotel , lick of paint needed but still great Great and helpful staff Good area lots of places to eat and drink
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Teighlor Jarrold (Good hotel)
  Sunday, 26 August 2018

5.0

 
Lovely hotel! However breakfast could be improved.
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Mr Timothy Wickson (T Wickson)
  Saturday, 25 August 2018

4.4

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Carol Tabb (Great value!)
  Tuesday, 21 August 2018

4.2

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Bernard Brooks (One night stay)
  Monday, 20 August 2018

4.0

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Philip Edgerley (One night stay)
  Sunday, 05 August 2018

4.6

 
Stayed one night B&B before going to Isle of Wight. Stayed here 5 times now rooms ok good breakfast
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Jennifer Stevens (Excellent cleanliness though mattress could have been firmer )
  Tuesday, 31 July 2018

4.2

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Mandy Gordon (Very Good Value)
  Tuesday, 24 July 2018

4.6

 
The staff are wonderful, very helpful. We would have liked a desk or ceiling fan in the room as it's so hot at the moment, and asked for one next time. Breakfast was satisfactory. We arrived back for an afternoon nap at 1.30 pm and our room hadn't been serviced by that point, but we decided to have a sleep anyway and never mind the room servicing. The cleaning staff gave us clean towels, and anything else we needed, so we have no complaints about the staff at all. We have family in Southampton, 15 minutes away so it's handy for us. There is parking at the hotel included in the price. All in all, somewhere we will definitely book again.
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Mandy Tutt (Great, friendly hotel in prime location)
  Friday, 20 July 2018

4.6

 
We stayed here to attend a graduation ceremony at the University and it's location is excellent, just a short 15 minute walk away, making the day very relaxed. The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful too.
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Susan and Colin Edmonton (Sons graduation)
  Friday, 20 July 2018

4.8

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Stephen Cassar (couple )
  Tuesday, 29 May 2018

4.6

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Venkatram Nalla (good)
  Thursday, 24 May 2018

4.2

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Ellen Beechey (Excellent staff and stay)
  Monday, 21 May 2018

4.8

 
Last minute booking had a family hospital emergency staff where really kind and helpful room was great and spotless clean, breakfast was excellent wish we could have spent a leisurely weekend there the decked bar area outside looked really inviting, you only now how good things are when you hit a problem ,the staff were 100% helpful would book again
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Haris Psarras (Recommended)
  Saturday, 19 May 2018

4.2

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Toni Baran (Highfield hotel Portswood)
  Monday, 14 May 2018

4.8

 
Good value for money hotel, great location for university and Portswood suburb with variety of eating places, avoids having to drive through Southampton centre.
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Peter Sandles (Very good as normal)
  Thursday, 03 May 2018

4.6

 
We will be back in the UK again in 2019/20 and will book here again.Staff are excellent and except for the slight changes in procedures and also some changes to the way it used to be we cannot find a better hotel in the Southampton area.We do have one concern however which confuses us.Why is it cheaper to book with a booking agent like Booking .com than with The Highfield direct? We had two separate bookings this time over and the booking .com was less expensive than The Highfield direct.
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Glenn Miller (60th birthday party stay)
  Sunday, 29 April 2018

4.4

 
Comfortable bed clean well appointed rooms. Staff helpful and polite.
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Ann Pate (Lovely stay )
  Sunday, 22 April 2018

4.8

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Matthew McCready (Good night, nice room, friendly staff)
  Sunday, 15 April 2018

4.2

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Luke Delmas (1 Night stay while attending conference at Southampton Uni)
  Thursday, 12 April 2018

4.2

 
Perfectly acceptable for a short stay, very convenient location. Good English breakfast!
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
BENJAMIN ARMITAGE (Good value and ideal for university)
  Wednesday, 11 April 2018

3.8

 
Highfield House was a pleasantime and functional b&b for a university related business trip. The single room was small but functional. Breakfast was good and we'll organised. Only slight negatives were a lack of plug sockets in the room and a very noisy bathroom fan! Overall a decent stopover. Thanks.
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Desmond Driver (Good nights sleep.)
  Saturday, 07 April 2018

4.8

 
One night stay. Found staff very helpful, room very clean, & breakfast very nice indeed. Would recommend. Des from York.
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Jo Taylor (Good value)
  Tuesday, 03 April 2018

4.0

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Sharon  Cowell (thankyou.)
  Monday, 26 March 2018

5.0

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Indira Chatterji (Great !)
  Thursday, 22 March 2018

5.0

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
John Nobbs (Good value-for-money)
  Wednesday, 21 March 2018

4.4

 
I like the Highfield because, unlike most other hotels in Southampton, it is reasonably priced. For £38 I got a perfectly reasonable single room with a good TV signal and, most importantly, plenty of hot water in the morning. Also, and this is a big plus, a guaranteed parking space. On the downside the room was not well heated. Although the radiator was on all night, I think, it did not get above moderately warm, even though I set it to max. It didn't bother me but it could bother others as it was a cold night (with snow on the ground).
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
martin warren (Hotel. )
  Monday, 12 March 2018

3.0

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Simrita Mandil (Nice Hotel )
  Monday, 12 March 2018

4.0

 
This was our second time at Highfield House Hotel. Comfortable and relaxing! Convenient location. A variety of food to choose from for Breakfast.
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Rhi Ashford (I liked Highfield House Hotel and it worked well for what I needed )
  Wednesday, 07 March 2018

4.6

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Jyrki Rantaharju (Cold)
  Monday, 05 March 2018

4.8

 
Tee room was too cold; the curtains block the radiators.
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Heather Jones (Fantastic )
  Thursday, 01 March 2018

4.0

 
Wow
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Peter de Wolfe
  Tuesday, 27 February 2018

4.0

 
Overnight stay with breakfast. Staff helpful and hotel good. Room small but OK
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
John Barber (Great Location and value for money)
  Tuesday, 27 February 2018

4.6

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Carson Harte
  Monday, 26 February 2018

3.8

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Tanya Coutts
  Sunday, 25 February 2018

4.8

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
robert bacon (A little gem)
  Sunday, 25 February 2018

3.8

 
fantastic little hotel, alas no restaurant or bar..but only 100 yards to pubs restaurants takeaways etc
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Graham Thornton (Very good value)
  Tuesday, 20 February 2018

5.0

 
Nice clean hotel with extremely helpful staff. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again and reccomend to friends.
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Mark W Wild (Fantastic)
  Monday, 19 February 2018

4.4

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Neil Charlwood (All in all, a Good Stay)
  Friday, 16 February 2018

4.4

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Venkatram  Nalla
  Thursday, 15 February 2018

4.0

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Jean Sandles
  Thursday, 15 February 2018

4.2

 
Even though I was booked to stay 11 nights, I had a very small room that looked out onto a brick wall and fire escapes from higher level rooms. After 2 nights I asked if I could move to a different room. There was no problem with that. I was much happier for the remainder of my stay.
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Frode Høgden (Pretty nice)
  Wednesday, 14 February 2018

4.4

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Frode Høgden (Pretty nice)
  Wednesday, 14 February 2018

4.4

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Angela Potter
  Sunday, 11 February 2018

4.0

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Donna Hill
  Saturday, 10 February 2018

4.4

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Ian Seabrook (Great for the price)
  Saturday, 10 February 2018

4.8

 
Friendly staff, comfortable bed, though duvet was a bit light - woke up a bit cold in the night. Nice building, great location.
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Venkatram Nalla
  Monday, 05 February 2018

4.0

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Richard SUTTON (Good)
  Wednesday, 31 January 2018

3.6

 
Better value for money than most of the alternative in the area. Breakfast was set out on time and had everything you would need. Would recommend for business stays.
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Katie  Whitfield
  Sunday, 28 January 2018

5.0

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Rebecca Gibbs
  Friday, 26 January 2018

4.4

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
John Nobbs
  Thursday, 25 January 2018

4.4

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Elizabeth Cargill
  Saturday, 20 January 2018

5.0

 
The beds were comfortable and the dark curtains were great at muffling sound and keeping light out. The shower was very good. Overall it was a pleasant stay.
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Mirela Dumitrache
  Friday, 19 January 2018

4.6

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities:
 
Sarah Crilly
  Thursday, 18 January 2018

4.2

 
Value for money:
Location:
Cleanliness:
Staff:
Facilities: